Green Smoothie + KitchenAid Blender Review

It’s no secret that I’m a fan of the smoothies.  A lot of posts on my blog lately have been devoted to these great, blended drinks (Strawberry Pineapple Smoothie, Banana Cashew Smoothie).  I have made smoothies a staple of my diet lately and I’m loving it!

A green smoothie is a smoothie made up of fruits and green leafy vegetables.  They are quick, nutritious, healthy, portable, easy to drink, and a great way to sneak in your greens… and they taste delicious!  I struggle with trying to find healthy food options for breakfast and for snacks and am extremely bad about eating my vegetables, so green smoothies have been a life saver for me.  I can taste the greens with the first initial taste and then the taste of greens fades and the taste of the fruits take over.  Some people get turned off by green food, but not me.  Green is actually my favorite color when it comes to a lot of food and drinks!

Green Smoothie + Kitchenaid Blender Review

Below, you will find my formula for blending up a simple, nutrient-packed smoothie that even the laziest non-breakfast-eater will love and have time for.  There are a million different ways to make a green smoothie but if you’re new to drinking your greens, I recommend starting with sweeter, smoother fruits (like bananas) and then as your taste buds adapt, you can get more adventurous.

KitchenAid 5-Speed Blenders with Polycarbonate Jars Review

Thanks to KitchenAid, I got to make this smoothie in my new KitchenAid 5-Speed Blender!I was very impressed with it, overall.  The polycarbonate jars is dishwasher safe and has a shatter-resistant pitcher with 56-ounce (7 cup) capacity.  It is sturdy, scratch and stain-resistant, and very light-weight making it easy to handle and pour.  This blender is super powerful and loaded with smart features and design elements.  It stirs, chips, mixes, purees, liquefies, crushes ice, and pulses like a champ.  I love the one-piece construction of the jar that makes it so you don’t have to disassemble the base to clean it.  And the lid doubles as a 2-ounce measure. Too cool!  Think of all the lovely smoothies you will be able to make with one of these.  Of course, you will be able to do a lot more, but let’s face it, smoothies are great now that summer is here!

KitchenAid claims that their blenders are the most powerful on the market and I am now a believer.  This blender has a 0.9 horsepower motor (about 670 watts) that purees food quickly and evenly.  The motor starts slowly and adjusts to the resistance/thickness of the food to maintain consistent speed without straining and reduces the amount of splatters.  No mess is always a plus!  The food is very quickly pureed to the consistency you want.  I always believe that the true test of a good blender is it’s ice-crushing ability and this blender grinds the ice very easily, a task many blenders I’ve tried in the past have had trouble with.  Along with no ice chunks, you also you won’t find any chunks of spinach in your green smoothie either (which is also something I’ve had problems with in my old blender).  This one works it’s magic and actually makes a really SMOOTH smoothie.

One of my favorite features is the clean touch control pad.  One easy swipe cleans it without having to worry about crumbs and liquids getting into the cracks and crevices between buttons…pure genius!  It is the quietest blender I have ever had, even when crushing ice.  Also, with it’s sleek look, it looks pretty on the counter.

I can’t say enough good things about this blender and I would recommend it to anyone for crushing ice, making smoothies or milkshakes, pureeing soups, and much more.  For around $100 the KitchenAid KSB560 is a great blender and doesn’t break the bank.  So if you don’t want to drop a ton of money and still was a great performing, sturdy, reliable machine that won’t disappoint during tough tasks – check out a KitchenAid KSB560 5-Speed Blender!It is available in numerous, fun colors :)

This is one of my new favorite appliances!  Many thanks to KitchenAid for the great product.  Happy Blending!

Disclaimer: I received a complementary blender from KitchenAid to use and review, but was not paid to write this review and all opinions are 100% my own.

Green Smoothie + Kitchenaid Blender Review

INGREDIENTS:

1 large orange, peeled and segmented
1 medium-large banana, cut into chunks
6 large strawberries
2 cups spinach (2 generous handfuls)
1/3 cup plain Greek yogurt (or substitute milk/almond milk)
1 cup ice

DIRECTIONS:

Place all of the ingredients in a powerful blender and process until smooth. Pour into glasses and serve immediately.

Note: Make sure you use a powerful blender that will puree the orange, spinach, ice, etc. You can pour in an air-tight container and freeze any extras.  Otherwise, store the leftover smoothie in the refrigerator.

- Craving more? Sign up for the Wishes & Dishes Newsletter for a fresh serving of content delivered every week to your inbox! And stay in touch on Facebook , Twitter , Pinterest and Instagram for all of the latest updates!
Print Friendly

Tags: , ,

Author:Ashley

These are a few of my favorite things: cooking, baking, hiking, running, singing, animals, cruises, Disney World, , dining out, the Christmas season, fireworks, weddings, storms, 80's music, musicals, and my favorite pastime has always been baseball. Go Yankees!

51 Responses to “Green Smoothie + KitchenAid Blender Review”

  1. June 26, 2013 at 1:11 AM #

    Yay to green smoothies! I had one a while back and loved it. I felt super healthy after drinking it too. Thanks for reminding to blend some up! :) Have a great week Ashley.

    • June 26, 2013 at 1:16 AM #

      Aww thanks, Anne! So good to hear from you and hope you have a great week, too :)

  2. Wanda
    June 26, 2013 at 5:58 AM #

    Perfect timing. My husband just surprised me with the blender of my dreams and I’m looking for green smoothie and other healthy recipes. This one looks great! Thanks

    • June 26, 2013 at 11:14 AM #

      Ooo What did you get??!! That’s so exciting! Thanks for stopping by, Wanda :)

  3. Wanda
    June 26, 2013 at 6:00 AM #

    I forgot to say, please share some more blender recipes:)

  4. June 26, 2013 at 7:43 AM #

    I’m going to have to give green smoothies a try. I’ve been skeptical for a long time because it seems like a fad and a quick way to ruin a good smoothie. ;) BUT . . . I need more vegetables in my life too and adding them to a smoothie does seem like a super easy way to get them!

    Also, that first photo is stunning! :) I love anything KitchenAid makes. I’d probably give up my microwave before I’d give up my KitchenAid mixer.

    • June 26, 2013 at 11:20 AM #

      I LOVE my Kitchenaid mixer, as well! I don’t remember what I did before I had it. And certain green smoothies taste “too healthy” for me but it just depends on the green smoothie. They can actually taste sweet!

  5. June 26, 2013 at 7:49 AM #

    My husband drinks a green smoothie without fail every morning, so he’s always looking for new variations. I know he hasn’t added Greek yogurt before – I’m going to suggest that this morning! :)

    • June 26, 2013 at 11:13 AM #

      It was so good with the Greek yogurt! It made it nice and creamy

  6. June 26, 2013 at 9:59 AM #

    I’ve definitely been drinking more smoothies now that it is summer, so I’ll have to add this one to the rotation :)

    • June 26, 2013 at 11:13 AM #

      I just started drinking them almost every day…especially now that I have my new blender!

  7. June 26, 2013 at 10:19 AM #

    Mmmm love a good green smoothie

  8. June 26, 2013 at 11:17 AM #

    Ooh, that’s a neat combination — spinach with Greek yogurt and fruit. I love that it’s an undeniably healthy smoothie, yet it’s delicious too, I’m sure (:

    • June 26, 2013 at 11:18 AM #

      It definitely is! If something tastes too healthy I normally don’t like it :)

  9. Wanda
    June 26, 2013 at 11:17 AM #

    A beautiful Vitamix. I just want to blend things now. I recently purchased a Breville juicer but there is so much waste. I’m liking the smoothies.

    • June 26, 2013 at 11:19 AM #

      That’s funny because I was debating whether or not to get a Breville juicer! I also looked into a Vitamix…I’ve heard great things about them!

  10. June 26, 2013 at 11:28 AM #

    How sad is it that I actually don’t own a blender? I really need to invest in one!

    • June 26, 2013 at 12:03 PM #

      It’s OK – I haven’t had one (that works) for a while now before now!

  11. June 26, 2013 at 12:09 PM #

    I love smoothies too and have been eating tons of them. I am going to try spinach in one, but I’m not sure if I’ll like it. I broke my other blender and was thinking about getting one of these, so the review was really interesting. For now, my food processor is doing double duty!

    • June 26, 2013 at 12:11 PM #

      I was using my food processor before I got this one! It did an OK job, I just found the spinach wasn’t getting broken up as well :)

  12. June 26, 2013 at 12:37 PM #

    What a nice blender! This smoothie sounds perfect, I love adding spinach to my smoothies. I always feel so good after drinking them and you can’t even taste it!

    • June 26, 2013 at 12:57 PM #

      Thanks, Sarah! I do always feel better about myself after one of these smoothies :)

  13. June 26, 2013 at 3:46 PM #

    Love making smoothies and things! I bet this is a great machine!

    • June 26, 2013 at 4:38 PM #

      It is! Thanks, Nancy!

  14. June 26, 2013 at 8:17 PM #

    I need to get on the smoothie band wagon! You’ve totally inspired me. Love your recipe. And great review!

    • June 26, 2013 at 8:24 PM #

      Aww Thanks, Gloria! You’re so sweet :)

  15. Nessa
    June 26, 2013 at 8:26 PM #

    Awesome review!

    • June 26, 2013 at 8:57 PM #

      Wow, thank you so much, Nessa!

  16. June 26, 2013 at 9:38 PM #

    I would love a Kitchen Aid blender but they cost a lot more than $100 here! That’s a very green smoothie that would be so good for you. I must learn to start the day with something like this xx

    • June 26, 2013 at 10:41 PM #

      I’m one of those people who would rather drink my fruits and veggies and get them over with! :)

  17. June 26, 2013 at 10:29 PM #

    Great smoothie! We eat tons of fruit for breakfast and tons of veggies for dinner, so no need to drink them! But I think smoothies are a wonderful idea for people who don’t have a lot of time and need something really quick, tasty, and nutritious. Good stuff – thanks.

    • June 26, 2013 at 10:42 PM #

      I am weird and prefer to drink my fruits and veggies because otherwise I don’t get nearly enough of them! Thanks, John!

  18. June 28, 2013 at 12:06 AM #

    I definitely don’t eat enough veggies either, so drinking smoothies, like this, are a life saver!!

    • June 28, 2013 at 12:18 AM #

      I’m right there with ya! Thanks, Jocelyn!

  19. June 28, 2013 at 1:50 PM #

    I love smoothies :-) Favourite at the minute is peanut butter banana for breakfast! My husband really wants a KitchenAid blender (and I want a KitchenAid everything!)

  20. Micron the Cat
    July 8, 2013 at 5:30 PM #

    Hey Ashley,

    I see from the date of your posting that you haven’t had this blender very long. I was wondering if you have noticed leaking? I have the same blender and it’s about a year old. It was only a couple of months old before we started seeing the grease from the bottom side of the blade being slung around underneath the pitcher, and then we noticed that the nut that holds the blade in place was loose, and though we have tightened it up repeatedly, it still comes loose. :( We got it as a gift and it’s only been used to make smoothies – not green ones, but protein ones with fruit, or I also make a protein shake that is a dead ringer for the McDonald’s Mocha Frappe (minus about 3/4 the carbs, plus protein!). :) Nomnomnom… Other than these issues, I agree with you on cleanability, and the power of the motor – this thing rocks!

    • July 9, 2013 at 1:01 AM #

      Yeah, I’ve only had mine for a about a month or so. I hope this doesn’t happen to mine! I’m so sorry to hear about yours leaking! I have been making smoothies in mine almost every day and it works great for those :)

      • Micron the Cat
        July 9, 2013 at 1:45 AM #

        HA! I just found the KA box that the blender came in, LOL. I posted on their FB page – if they respond, the box is ready!

  21. Micron the Cat
    July 10, 2013 at 12:07 AM #

    Follow-up – KitchenAid responded to my FB query and they are replacing the pitcher part of the blender! We are very excited, ‘cuz as I said, this is my favorite blender I’ve ever had. :) Yay, KitchenAid Customer Service!

    • July 10, 2013 at 12:29 AM #

      I’m so glad to hear this!!

  22. Wendy
    September 13, 2013 at 10:35 PM #

    It sounds great! However, I learned a couple of days ago that you may want to consider orange juice instead of the yogurt/dairy when you’re making smoothies with spinach: http://blogs.webmd.com/eye-on-vision/2006/09/spinach-solution-needed.html I think it also has to do with the fact that spinach inhibits calcium absorption (and somehow it’s not ideal to have calcium-rich liquids with it): http://www.webmd.com/a-to-z-guides/nonmilk-sources-of-calcium-topic-overview I haven’t fully investigated, but it’s something to look into. Thanks for the recipe!

    • September 14, 2013 at 12:35 AM #

      Wendy, that is a great suggestion! I am definitely going to try it with orange juice sometime. I wonder if it would make the taste even better?

  23. Judy
    November 29, 2013 at 2:19 PM #

    What a helpful review! I’ve had this blender for several years – I’m guessing four. I only use it for smoothies or making “ice cream” with milk and frozen fruit but I use it almost every day. The ice cream requires ice cubes also. I’ve just recently started using if for green smoothies – about 2 months. It works great. I use kale, arugula, spinach, chia, hemp, flax seeds, frozen fruit, and either almond milk, unsweetened, just water, or tea. I add cinnamon. There is hardly any pulp left in the container.

    I bought this originally because I loved the fact that the pitcher was one piece – so easy to wash and so unlikely to leak. But now it’s the power I am hooked on.

    I’ve been tempted by the nutribullet, but I don’t think it would do much better than my kitchen aide and who needs all those parts.

    • November 29, 2013 at 5:16 PM #

      Thank you for the nice comment – I’m glad you liked my review!!

  24. December 18, 2013 at 3:42 AM #

    I have a Thermomix and have only just started making green smoothies but they don’t seem very “smooth”! The spinach, kale or parsley doesn’t seem to completely purée and I find it a bit chewy. Is this the way it should be or should I invest in a blender as well?

    • December 18, 2013 at 2:01 PM #

      It shouldn’t be that way – a good blender shouldn’t leave chunks of anything….before I got the Kitchenaid I had the same problem!

  25. April 23, 2014 at 8:43 PM #

    Hi Ashley, really nice post you made. Really helpful. I was just wondering if you had any leaking issue from your blender? I want to get one but the online reviews are quite mixed, with loads of people having leaking issues. Thanks in advance for your input!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Green Smoothie + KitchenAid Blender Review | Various stuff - July 10, 2013

    [...] Read more… [...]

  2. MacGourmet Recipe Batch: Smoothies | ZeynepGoral.com - February 28, 2014

    […] Green Smoothie from Wishes and Dishes […]

Leave a Reply